Fine Nights

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It was my first time at UBS Command House last week. We were there to co-organize “The Business Times Wine Challenge – CEOs’ Choice”. In partnership with UBS, the wine awards is in its second year.  Wine merchants and distributors participated in this challenge by submitting their top wines for shortlisting. 10 finalists were then narrowed down by a panel of CEOs cum judges during this event.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Initially, I was not really looking forward to this event because honestly, the focus was on wine tasting and appreciation which I have zero interest in. I have no qualms against drinking alcohol, whenever I drink beer or wine I just don’t find the experience enjoyable. Based on personal experiences, I don’t think alcohol has the effect of making me more talkative or sociable. Instead, I become more sluggish and will not contribute anything substantial to a conversation haha.

The whole experience didn’t turn out as boring as I thought it would be though. I figured that a little wine knowledge and occasional exposure to wine etiquette goes a long way in this profession. Also, I was given an impromptu opportunity to interview some of the CEOs (e.g. Richard Eu of Eu Yan Sang, Michael Su of Pontiac Land and Susan Lim of ARA Trust Management) to share some of their opinions and insights about the entire judging process. I adore the fact that most of them were engaging, friendly and down-to-earth people.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

